Content Header

Press Releases

Press Releases
LegCo Members to Visit Sichuan Tomorrow  

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

The President of the Legislative Council (LegCo), Mr Jasper Tsang Yok-sing, will lead members of the Panel on Development, as well as Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of the Finance Committee, House Committee, Panel on Education, Panel on Health Services, Panel on Home Affairs and Panel on Welfare Services to visit Sichuan tomorrow (September 24) in connection with post-quake restoration and reconstruction work.

The visit is arranged upon receiving an invitation from the People's Government of Sichuan Province. Mr Tsang hoped that the visit would enable LegCo Members to gain a better understanding of the latest development of the post-quake restoration and reconstruction work in Sichuan, especially those projects supported by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR).

During the visit, Members will observe the progress of some reconstruction projects in Nanchong, Dujiangyan and Yingxiu, such as schools, residential buildings and a rehabilitation centre. Some of these reconstruction projects are supported by the HKSAR and some by other provinces / municipalities. Members will also visit the Jinsha Site Museum and meet with officials of the Sichuan Province to receive a briefing on the restoration and reconstruction work in Sichuan. The delegation will return to Hong Kong this Saturday (September 26).

The delegation consists of 14 Members, including the President. Other Members include Ir Dr Raymond Ho Chung-tai, Mr James To Kun-sun, Mr Chan Kam-lam, Mrs Sophie Leung Lau Yau-fun, Dr Philip Wong Yu-hong, Mr Wong Yung-kan, Ms Miriam Lau Kin-yee, Dr Joseph Lee Kok-long, Mr Cheung Hok-ming, Professor Patrick Lau Sau-shing, Dr Leung Ka-lau, Mr Ip Kwok-him, and Dr Samson Tam Wai-ho.

Ends/Wednesday, September 23, 2009
Issued at HKT 17:03